Blue Japan

This post is fairly self explanatory, I screen printed a blue Japan…

Again following on from my last post, which was designs for one of my textile workshop outcomes, this work is from my second session in textiles. I decided I liked the Japan design best (see last post for this) so worked out how I could achieve it. Screen printing seemed the best way to get a neat and clean shape.

The method I used for these is slightly different to what I would do at home with my screen, but that’s mainly because of time constraints at college. I cut out a stencil of the Japan shape in newsprint, then literally just printed over this onto a selection of fabrics. I love screen printing as you get a satisfying result, but it can be very lengthy, especially if you use more than one colour!
DSC_0040 DSC_0042 DSC_0045

The above print is my favourite as the material already had a design on it, and cute little tassels! I can’t really use this as my outcome however as it’s not all my work! DSC_0046 DSC_0049

This fabric is so beautiful. It’s an organza in a lovely golden colour. Obviously viewed flat it doesn’t show it’s true appearance, so I had to scrunch it up to show you this. The turquoise print of Japan goes wonderfully with the gold – this is now another colour combination I’m obsessed with!

The next stage to my textiles project was to finalise this piece (which I still need to do!) and design some more ideas for our second outcome piece.

Thanks for reading, hope you’ll join me to see the next outcome!

Love Jasmine x

P.s, don’t forget to LIKE to let me know you’ve read this post!

Leave a Reply

