Cambridge In Autumn

Cambridge will always be one of my favourite places. It has that beauty of old buildings, bustling city, culture, art, bicycles, little shops, big shops, the old and the new. A couple of weeks ago I went to this perfect place with my family, and it was more beautiful than ever in this wonderful autumn.

DSC_0895My outfit for the day was focused around this new flowing black shirt, which I wear as a jacket, but sometimes with the buttons done up as a dress. This little black skort is a constant necessity in my wardrobe, and went perfectly with the flattering black, sleek look. A simple coloured top from Topshop added depth to the black, and the black boots obviously set out the style of the whole look. The bag is a beauty from Miss Patina, which I loved as soon as I saw it. I use it for college now everyday as it’s a perfect size and goes with everything I wear.
DSC_0553 Of course there are lots of bicycles around Cambridge, which adds to it’s old rustic charm.

DSC_0573 DSC_0576 We went to the Fitzwilliam museum, which is always a great place to go, and now I’m at art college, a great opportunity to be inspired. first we stopped in their cafe for coffee and lunch. These cups were so design-y they made me smile (and take a picture of course).

DSC_0586

Round the galleries I took notes and drew little sketches of the artworks or ideas. There are several artists I need to research!

DSC_0897

I also stopped and drew a small figurine of a woman, with some of my new charcoal pencils. I like the way it’s come out, as it appears to shine like the bronze of the statue.DSC_0902 DSC_0595 DSC_0606

Walking through Cambridge, there were lots of pretty windows, and this patisserie had Halloween inspired decor (as it was approaching Halloween), look at those cute little ghost meringues, and those gorgeous colours!
DSC_0611

The leaves are beautiful colours, and blend with the tones of the stone in the buildings. Browns, greys, beiges, reds, pale yellows. DSC_0614 DSC_0624 DSC_0635 DSC_0637 DSC_0641 DSC_0643 DSC_0644 DSC_0648 DSC_0651 DSC_0654

I’ve been greatly inspired by this trip, as I do whenever I go places. I think taking in whats around you is the most valuable source of inspiration you can get.

This post has been fun to write, as I truly adore this place. I’d love to know if you’ve been to Cambridge and love it as much as I do!

Jasmine x

One thought on “Cambridge In Autumn

  1. Pingback: Washi Tape + Pens // P R E T T Y T H I N G S | Flower Named Jasmine

Leave a Reply

