My 2016 Review // R A M B L I N G S

 

Many people say 2016 was a bad year, for several different reasons, and I can’t blame them for overgeneralising like that in a society where media hypes disaster and misery. It’s February now, and you may be thinking ‘why are you still talking about last year? it’s gone, get over it’. But I just wanted to share my 2016 briefly (turns out it wasn’t so brief as I’d started out) with you, and explain why it was a good year for me, despite things happening in the wider world, which let’s be honest seemed pretty bad. What with Trump fulfilling all our worst nightmares and becoming the leader of the world’s most powerful country, and Brexit of course.

These are significantly bad things to worry about, so, as I said, I don’t blame people for hating the fact that these happened. But condemning a whole year because of two separate events that happened months apart? And I’m not even mentioning the thing about mass death of celebrities and heroes, (which – by the way – only seems consequential because of the combination of the growing population, social media prominence and, well, disease and old age)… Remember 2012, when there was the London Olympics, the euros (if you like that sort of thing), and the Queens jubilee? We didn’t go on so much about how good that year was with the conviction we moaned about 2016 – just because it seemed bad, we go on about it (how British aha).

 

Anyway, as a positive person, I have reflected personally on the year, and realised that I’m very lucky. I’m very priviledged, and very very lucky, to have had such a good year, with so many opportunities and things happening to me.

So, I will now share with you, why I had such a good 2016;

College

Most of my foundation in art and design happened within the last year, and it’s been some of the best time of my life. I was working on projects that I felt excited about, that I had motivation for, that I loved doing. I was doing so much work, and exploring different areas of design, and different art practices and materials. I think I finally found my area, and what I wanted to do for the rest of my life – that’s definitely a point when you know things are going right. I also ended up getting a distinction at the end of it, so that’s pretty darn good!

editdsc_0368editdsc_0389untitled-1

Cornwall trip

Last Feburary I had to go to a couple of university open days down near Cornwall, so me my dad and my sister went for a week to stay down there. It was a great little holiday, and we did some nice things, as well as seeing universities and doing my interviews.

dsc_0100dsc_0217dsc_0229

Got into University

One of the great things about my foundation was that it got me into a good university. And when I found out I’d been offered a place at Central st Martins, University of the Arts London, I was so shocked and surprised, and happy. I actually nearly didn’t end up going there because I thought I’d be better off at Kingston, but I changed my mind at the last minute because the course at CSM was so good. I was pretty proud of my portfolio that I showed the universities, these are a few photos.

963

Amazing summer

I had an amazing summer, possibly the nest one I’ve ever had. I did loads of things, that I think I’ll remember for the rest of my life. It was active, but slow and steady, allowing me to appreciate everything. I saw friends, went out, visited my favourite places, drank tea (there was a lot of that), worked on projects, created art. Basically I devoted my time to my favourite things.

dsc_0181dsc_0269dsc_0379

Family Holiday

One of the great things that happened in the summer was my holiday with my family. I always love spending time with my family, and it was great to have two weeks down in Dorset/Devon to relax and do interesting things. I’ve blogged one post about it here, but I’m going to keep sharing my adventures throughout this year, as I loved it so much.

dsc_0490dsc_0855dsc_0949

Started University

This was a big change in my life, one I’m still trying to get over. I’ve gained more independence, and I’m studying at a great place – what more can I say.

 

Moved to London

Going to university in London was the best decision I’ve made recently. It’s a great city with loads of opportunities, and interesting, useful things to do. It’s such a vibrant place, full of life and things going on, and it’s really brought me out of my shell. You feel like you’re really in the heart of something; like something’s actually happening. But maybe that’s just me speaking as a country gal.

dsc_0131dsc_0474dsc_0226

 

Blogged some pretty cool things

This blog has been a great source of comfort and inspiration over the last year, and I’m proud of what I’ve done and what direction it’s going in. So here I’ve compiled a list of my favourite posts from the year, that I think you should check if you haven’t seen them!

Read about my blogging story here.

Favourite posts from 2016

Pretty Beads And Wooden Things : Craft haul

New York : Day 1

Yellow-Bellied

 

Illustration : Collage And Ink

 

Windows And Plants

 

Banana Ice-cream + DIY Container // C R E A T I O N S

 

Knightshayes House – Pt1, Devon //  A D V E N T U R E S

 

Autumnal Windowsill //  P R E T T Y   T H I N G S

 

Muji Gift Candles // 1 2 ~ D A Y S ~ O F ~ C H R I S T M A S

 

 

 

So, all in all, I had a great year, because I was happy. Happier than I think I’ve ever been. Without getting too slushy, I just want to carry on being happy and doing the things I love. 2017 shall just be a time to develop, personally and socially, and hope that the world won’t go to shit.

I wrote a post about my lifestyle changes last year and for 2017, which summarises my ‘resolutions’ for this year. This blog will hopefully be another large part of my life this year, and I make more posts like the ones I’ve showed you today. Let me know if you check them out, or like them, and what would you like to see from me in 2017?

 

Love

Jasmine x

Take a look at my latest posts here

 

 

3 thoughts on “My 2016 Review // R A M B L I N G S

  1. Loved this post! I like to read about your reflections combined with the beautiful photos. It’s great to see that you stay so positive – 2016 was a pretty good year for me too and I think it’s important to focus on the positive things! 🙂 have a lovely week xx

    Like

  2. Pingback: In Love With February // R A M B L I N G S | Flower Named Jasmine

Leave a Reply

